Reviews Brasserie De Paris

Zomato
Garth Williamson
+5
Authentic French food. Attentive staff. A treasure.
26 days ago
Zomato
Marc Uhlmann
+5
If you are looking for a fine-dining restaurant in Pretoria with a stunning location, outstanding food, and an incredible atmosphere, Brasserie de Paris is unmatched.
6 months ago
Zomato
Fintech Start-up
+5
Chapeau! Pour moi, le meiux en Afrique!!! Cuisine francais avec beacoup de style et la carte de vin est aussi joli! A la prochaine fois!!! Marc de Bruyn MERCI BIEN :)
Jul 18, 2019
Zomato
Peter Gidlow
+4
Architecture is something to admire. Fondant blew my mind as it melted away in my mouth. Thanks guys we will be back for more! Wine list well selected.
Jan 20, 2019
Zomato
Ferdie Potgieter
+4.5
Very good choice for an anniversary dinner date. The restaurant has a unique ambiance with a relaxed atmosphere. The food was excellent and paired with good friendly service.
Dec 15, 2017
Zomato
LLDash
+5
Fine dining that caters to vegetarians? That equals culinary heaven for me, and the food and service at this restaurant can certainly be described as heavenly. The history of the building is fascinating, along with the uiqiue architecture, which adds to the allure of the overall experience.

The service is outstanding!

The food, every morsel was divine and thoroughly enjoyed.

We are going back this weekend, and taking friends to share in this discovery of lovely French cuisine in Pretoria!
Nov 30, 2017
Zomato
Busfactor
+5
Supreme service, great food!! Nothing beats a restaurant that serves food made with passion and served with pride. My favorite restaurant in Pretoria. The setting is beautiful and it is always a pleasure to dine at Brasserie De Paris
Nov 12, 2017
Zomato
Annelie Nel
+4.5
What a treat!
It seems almost industrial from the outside, but you are greeted to a warm interior and excellent and friendly service.
Salmon starter delectable. Marrow bones homely and well prepared.
Mains skate wing fresh and treated with respect, the fish remained the star.
Trio of lamb a winner...the men would've just loved more of it.
Selection of desserts and a cheese board a perfect ending, accompanied by a bottle of Klein Constantia dessert wine, a night to remember and a restaurant to recommend. Thank you and well done!
Jul 09, 2017
Zomato
Joe Me
+4.5
Would give a 4.7 rating.   4.5 does not really do it justice but closest to a 4.7

Had dinner at there on Thursday evening. Limited parking on the inside. Property very unique and interesting. Solid expensive architecture. Just have a look at the arched ceiling built with face bricks. 

Pleasant and warm ambiance. Soft French music playing. A few small dining rooms with beautiful decor. Elegant furniture and colours. Perfect for a romatic dinner or executive business dinner.

Had the Butternut soup, Chateaubriand, green beans, pommes frites and béarnaise; and crème brûlée. The meat quality and preparation was excellent. The crème brûlée was delicious. As a man I just think the food portions are smaller than a restaurant like Delices De France where the food is equally good.

Can recommend the restaurant anytime for a special occasion.
Jun 17, 2017
Zomato
James Marsh
+4.5
I have been wanting to come here for such a long time, and finally had the opportunity this weekend! And wow!! It was incredible! We had their 5 course wine pairing tasting menu. It was incredible! The wines pared so well with all the courses and the waiter came and showed us the bottle before he poured at the table! So you know exactly what you are getting. Only critical point, when the one main arrived the wine was oxidized and when we told the waiter this he quickly fixed it but was very snotty afterwards, contradicting himself saying it was opened that day, but when I asked if he just can open a new bottle he said the last new bottle was opened last week??? Hence the off wine... so why have a personality change after he received a very generous tip despite everything, which kind of spoiled things for us. Otherwise the food was out of this world!
Jun 01, 2017
Zomato
Tc Moila
+4
One of the finest experiences I've had in Pretoria.
Located in the hills of Waterkloof, this gem is hidden and secluded for a beautiful quiet special candlelit dinner.

The restu has quite tables inside and quite a few on a deck that covered by nature, the decor is elegant without the intimidating feel.
They have a set menu with wine a pairing of each course as an option which would be lovely for any couple to enjoy.

I had a mouth-watering goats cheese starter to begin the evening followed by the shared 300g fillet and closed off with a beautifully presented sorbet and surprised with a complimentary panna cotta by the chef! Thank You!

A definite must-visit by every couple!
Mar 02, 2017
Zomato
Nicole Melissa Brooks
+4.5
Situated in the lovely suburb of Waterkloof, you will find Brasserie de Paris. We had supper here on Monday evening. We opted for the al a carte menu. We enjoyed our meals prepared with the utmost care. We were served an amuse bouche of the soup of the day. I had the salmon salad for starters and my boyfriend had the goats cheese. We shared the chateaubriand, the meat was cooked to perfection. We also shared the floating meringue for dessert served on top of smooth custard. The kitchen sent over a vanilla panna cotta to end off our meal. Service was good and non- intrusive. A lovely spot for date night in Pretoria. Merci beaucoup 👌🏽
Feb 14, 2017
Zomato
Minnette Nieuwoudt
+5
This restaurant has by far the best service I have ever had in a South African restaurant. It is a classic French restaurant that offers a la carte and set menu options with an impressive wine list.

We reserved the rooftop terrace for an anniversary dinner. It is beautiful and understated without​ the pomp and circumstance of some of the other places in the area. When it started to rain, we were immediately offered a cosy table downstairs. They went out of their way to make us feel special (including hand made truffles on a specially decorated plate after dinner).

We had the set menu with wine pairing. The dishes were exquisite (the cold melon soup was something special), and the pairings included a selection of local and international wines.

Overall, I was blown away by the excellent service, tasty food and laid-back cool atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!
Dec 25, 2016
Zomato
Frederika Fourie
+5
I love this restaurant. It is my favourite, favourite spot in the city. Every big moment gets celebrated here. The atmosphere is relaxed and cozy, the staff attentive. We usually order the set menu and allow the chef to take us on a food journey, and I've never been disappointed. Somehow I've never been there on a warm evening, but I imagine with the doors open it's a lovely outside/inside experience. In winter, however, the fireplace sets the mood. I can recommend Brasserie De Paris to anyone who's looking for an intimate dinner with family, friends or your better half.
Nov 16, 2016
Zomato
Greta Van Rensburg
+4
I've been going to Brasserie for the past eleven years and still go when I have to entertain guests. Why? For more than four years now they serve the same menu, so I know what to expect. Other establishments experiment and try out their new dishes on their clients. Not this one. Call me boring, but I know what I'll get, whether it be the fillet trio or lamb... both a favourite. And the architecture and view, the service, always enough to keep the compliments coming.
Oct 19, 2016
Zomato
Roelia Schoeman
+5
We were VERY impressed by the service, ambience and quality of the food!  The menu is French traditional - which is of course exactly what it is supposed to be!  Started off with freshly baked baguette, followed by a 'bite of goodness' amuse bouche.  The onion soup starter was absolutely delicious and very moreish.  I ordered the 'Trio Fillet' and to quite shamelessly directly from the menu, "Trio Fillet, crispy bone marrow, truffle butter, wild mushroom duxelles, prommes frites and cognac sauce.  And I REALLY can't choose which fillet serving I enjoyed more.  We will defintely be back to try the degustation menu!  (Full review on our blog)
Aug 17, 2016
Zomato
Marie
+4
Brasserie de Paris is an intimate French fine dining experience. The atmosphere is warm, cosy and romantic, and certain areas are secluded to provide a private experience. The wine list is fantastic with a great overall selection. You can enjoy either a 5-course tasting, or an A'La Carte menu option. For a French fine dining restaurant, the prices are competitive.We had the Trio of Beef and ended it off with a Vanilla Pod Crème Brulee, both highly recommended options.
Aug 16, 2016
Zomato
Dale Pudney
+5
Simply wonderful. My first date place because it makes a very good impression! Must have the degustation menu!
Aug 13, 2016
Zomato
The SA Food Guru
+3.5
This unique upmarket French restaurant is tucked away in a historic and architecturally significant building within the affluent suburb of Waterkloof.

The atmosphere is romantic and special - you definitely cannot go wrong to book a table here for a private and intimate meal.

The dinner menu changes frequently, so be sure to check in advance if you have any dietary requirements.

Our service on the night was almost uncomfortably polite - a fine dining restaurant should not have waiting staff that seem uncertain of themselves and almost apologetic. Treat your diners like you'd treat a friend - that's my opinion.

Anyway, the food:

Amuse bouche of oysters - pretty good and straight forward. The soup starter was alright. Followed by a foie gras Millefeuille which was excellent.

Mains - grilled salmon and pork fillet.
Unfortunately nothing extraordinary... I understand it's fine dining, but the portions were way too small compared to other restaurants of this caliber.

Followed by a cheese plate - the croutons that accompanied the dish were a tad stale.

Finally, the dessert, which redeemed the meal.

Another thing that I found strange regarding the service, was when I asked for a paper serviette, the waitress brought me a stash of toilet paper - that she'd removed from the roll in the WC. Very unprofessional I would say, but also a bit funny.

Anyway, the place remains an icon in Pretoria, and is worth a visit.

PS: Make sure you don't sit at the table located by the kitchen door as it gets way too noisy and you can hear the chef yelling in the kitchen.
Apr 13, 2016
Zomato
Kemesha
+3.5
This restaurant is located at an unconventional house with a unique architectural design, with the beautiful sound of flowing water and a rather traditional yet stylish interior. The restaurant staff are pleasant and the service is good. We had the gazpacho soup and bread, complimentary from the Chef. For mains, we had the trio of beef fillet and the vegetarian ratatouille. Both dishes were beautifully presented. The trio of beef fillet was good with the marrow being very tasty. The ratatouille was equally good. Overall, we enjoyed our meals. Hoping to go back soon to try their 5 course degustation menu.
Feb 27, 2016
Zomato
Leigh Van Der Merwe
+5
I am never disappointed at Brasserie. Valentines Day lunch was amazing! We had the 5 course with wine pairing and it was well worth it. The staff seated us immediately and we never had to wait or look for service. The waiters are polite and well informed about the food and the wine. The atmosphere is relaxing and the seating arrangements allow for privacy. I would recommend the salmon and beef trio if you have the opportunity as their menu does change, one of my personal favorites is the tomato soup starter. Perfect place to spoil someone special! Thanks again, will be back soon!!
Feb 17, 2016
Zomato
Elsabe Oosthuysen
+4
Had the valentines lunch on Sunday. We enjoyed the view from the roof very much. Been planning on visiting brasserie for some time and are we are glad we went on Sunday. The food was tasty and the menu was well thought out. The dessert was to die for and I will definitely return. The architecture of the building is interesting. The service was good and the waitress very friendly and a bit reserved. Which we liked as it was valentines and we wanted to have some intimate conversation. We enjoyed the experience and will be back again soon.
Feb 16, 2016
Zomato
Bonnie
+5
Myself and my boyfriend had our 3 year anniversary at Brasserie De Paris. It was an unbelievable experience, from the friendly waiters to the beautiful ambiance and the AMAZING food paired with a perfect bottle of wine. I would highly recommend a night at Brasserie De Paris, to get away from the Hustle in the city and stop time with your loved one. Thank you for making our night so special... See you guys soon

X
Feb 12, 2016
Zomato
Klaudia Gebert
+4.5
What a lovely Restaurant experience! Great atmosphere paired with delicious food and a perfect bottle of wine! Excellent service too!
A true hidden gem!
Jan 25, 2016
Zomato
Krisjan Korf
+5
Undoubtedly a full score, which does not happen frequently. Only the best foie gras for starters, pork belly for mains (the sauce deserves a prize) and the cheese platter for desert, all served by one of the best waiters in town. On the expensive side, but quality yet to be beaten North of the Jukskei.
Dec 09, 2015
Zomato
Stefan Jacobs
+4
Impressive setting in Waterkloof. It was our first time to visit this restaurant and upon entry we waited for a few minutes without service. This was due to our own misunderstanding and not knowing the place and knowing we should take the stairs up. The service was very good and staff well trained and understood the menu. Food was very well presented and very nice and tasty. We did not eat from the pre-set wine pairing menu but rather ordered from the Ala Carte menu. I had the Goats cheese starter which was very tasty and quite rich as goats cheese should be. My wife had the Salmon tartare and was very impressed. For mains we both had the Trio of Fillet. My wife requested her fillet to be rare and I ordered mine blue. The chef got this slighty wrong as both orders were overcooked but still very tasty nontheless. The chef prepared me a Chocolate fondant for desert which I saw on the website menu but was no longer available on the restaurant menu. It was faultless. My wife had her usual Creme Brulee and enjoyed it very much. The selection of wines is sufficient but not very large compared yo other restaurant cellars. I also missed a few trusted and known names from the winelist and I found the wines on the list a bit on the expensive side for what you get. All this is understandable taking into account the type of establishment this restaurant represents. It was overall a good fine dining experience. We enjoyed the food and friendly staff and afterwards enjoyed relaxing in the bar area.
Nov 28, 2015
Zomato
Nadia Barnard
+4
This is a french dining experience of note. Don't be in a hurry, as good food is suppose to be savoured and appreciated. Always book a table! And then for an extra special experience ask to be seated on the rooftop patio or the wine cellar. The Degustation Menu (5 courses) lets you sample a bit of everything. Recommendation: Trio Beef Fillet (pepper fillet, bonemarrow fillet & fillet with Bearnaise) served with stunning shoestring fries and a congnac sauce. 💜
Oct 06, 2015
Zomato
Maretia
+4
A wholly fantastic experience, really great dishes on the 5 course menu but unfortunately a very unpleasantly lengthy wait in between courses.
Sep 22, 2015
Zomato
SJ Wiggett
+4.5
A great intimate fine dinning experience. Would highly recommend the 5 course option. Perfect for an intimate date night, special occasion or birthday. Make sure you book and don't be in a hurry
Sep 09, 2015
Zomato
NickNock
+4.5
If we ever have a special occasion to celebrate, this is where we go. It feels so mystical to be in this beautiful home/restaurant. It feels like you are dining in an old parisian villa, often too close to your neighboring diners. In winter they have little fireplaces on and It is a very cosy little place. In summer when they open up the terrace it is very pleasant. The food is great. Last time we were there we had the 5-course meal but without the wine-pairing as we were on the bubbly stuff. The soup du jour was great, the trio of beef fillet was cooked perfectly and all in all it was a great evening. Prices are quite high but you have to pay a premium to be in such a great setting. Will be back soon!
Aug 25, 2015
Zomato
Nadja Louw
+4
In the middle of Waterkloof suburbia you will find this hidden gem of a restaurant. This restaurant has a special and intimate feel with great service and really good food. The house is also a treat to explore and having your coffee on the roof to end your night is an extra advantage. The food is French cuisine, but you won't go home feeling hungry, definitely worth paying a little extra. We had the 5 course degustation menu with wine included and it was delicious. Come here to treat yourself to something special.
Aug 02, 2015
Zomato
Michella Ferreira Pellegrino
+3.5
Located in Waterkloof, hidden in a residential area and renovated with a touch of moderately, to accommodate guests as appose to its original purpose of being a home. It has a warm and welcoming ambiance. The food was good, but not amazing if comparing it to the cuisine of the orient Mosaic restaurant. The service was Amazing and I would go back for the experience.
Jul 19, 2015
Zomato
Desiré Julyan
+5
This has to be my absolute favorite restaurant, ever. The experience and ambience is just as good as the food. It will make you feel like you want to lick your plate clean, although you shouldn't!
Jul 17, 2015
Zomato
Lara Lourens
+5
Although I've only been to Brasserie de Paris once, a few years ago, the experience was unforgettable. I was still in high school & my French teacher took us there on a class outing. We had a set menu (I had a vegetarian one) & the food was trés magnifique!  Somehow I can still taste the Thyme Sorbet and the impressive Crème brûlée whenever I think about that night. I remember the meat eating students raving about the Poulet they had. The atmosphere was lovely and my teacher even arranged a movie (Faubourg 36) for us to watch and discuss during dinner. The evening was truly memorable and I think this particular experience was what made me realise what fine dining really is. Right now, on my student budget, I doubt I'd be a regular at Brasserie de Paris any time soon. But hopefully this restaurant will still be with us for many years to come so that everyone can have a taste of France.
Mar 18, 2015
Zomato
Wilna Bester
+4
We attended a midweek celebrately supper for 14 at Brasserie de Paris.
In a quiet subburb, right out of the seventies is this haven of tranquility - former home to an architect with a large, peaceful garden.
To start we were served tiny thin and crisp brushcetta smothered in wonderfully melted smooth goats cheese. Unpretencious and delicious.
I had an olive and cherry tomato tart with pepper ice cream, a splendid combination, smooth, creamy and flavourful.
For the main meal: grilled kingklip with mash potato and tenderstem broccoli. It was cooked well and pleasant to eat but nothing exceptional.
Not having a sweet tooth, I chose the cheese board. It was delicious and satisfying. But the desert of the evening definately had been the chocolate fondant.
Service professional. One mistake was made with the orders and unobstrusively rectified
The wines served were fantastic.
Feb 20, 2015
Zomato
Jaco
+4.5
Lived in Pretoria all my life never been to this unique restaurant. Tucked away in a seventies house between embasies its something different. Even on a Thursday evening it was busy. Will gladly pay 35% more than a regular steakhouse for the interesting dishes. Dishes like cold tomato soup with pepper ice cream and 3 different styled fillets on one plate for main will ensure my return. Good service highly recommended but get babysitter for kids.
Nov 01, 2014
Zomato
Matthew Cook
+4.5
Epic little Parisian Bistro. Their 5 course tasting menu is an absolute delight with expert pairing of wine for each course. Attention to detail in the explanation of each course and the wine pairing choice. A definite treat! Probably the best "just because" cheese platter in town. A must visit if you're a foodie.
Jul 20, 2014
5
Bianca Juliette O'Neill
+5
What an amazing experience. Worth all the hype. It was like eating art. The food is really amazing. Everything was amazing. Really enjoyed my fine dining experience.
5
Nieuwoudt Le Roux
+5
Amazing food experience, definitely a place you want to visit at least once, and very accommodating with small to medium (possibly large) special dining events. You'll feel like you're in another country altogether, just make sure to not eat too long on each plate Bc they just keep coming😆 but definitely take time to savour the amazing flavours of each dish😋
5
Sanjana
+5
The best place ever! I felt super special! Denver our waiter, was so pleasant. The way our food was served to the tasting of the dishes, was perfect. I was in awe. The atmosphere was great. Honestly felt like a princess
4
Yuri Bhaga
+4
Had dinner booked after a very long day. We arrived in not very high spirits after a challenging day and was on the fence about even coming . However the wait staff were so gracious, patient and gave us enough space to settle into the evening and we left with happy bellies and in much better spirits. Opted for the tasting menu which our wonderful waitress organised as we were after the cutoff time . Food was very good and the wine as well. Only drawback was that it was an exceptionally hot evening and unfortunately our seating area had no fans, so it was quite uncomfortable and the doors that were open only assisted in many mosquitos and mosquito bites interrupting an otherwise pleasant evening.
5
Suleen Truter
+5
Set amongst tranquil and serene gardens, be pleasantly surprised by this hidden gem. Offering excellent service, sophisticated dishes in an architectural masterpiece - highly recommend
5
Faith Sabelo Silengane
+5
One of the most beautiful restaurants I've ever dined at We arrived around 6pm for our Anniversary dinner We had our 20 month old with us unfortunately we didn't know they are not kids friendly but the waiter and manager wer so understanding and still accommodated us (they put us in the private room) which was very nice of them The food was divine I had the steak au poivre this was mouth watering My husband had the duck breast which he enjoyed also For dessert we had Creme Brulee and Miso chocolate Oh and we wer given a couple of treats in-between our meals which was beautiful 😍 Everything about this place is awesome 👌 Really enjoyed celebrating our second anniversary
5
Antoinette Napier
+5
Superb food (not the typical steakhouse), reasonably priced, lovely wine selection, great atmosphere. Servers are well trained and Denver is really friendly but professional, and has a great sense of humour. We had the soft shell crab and onion tartlet for starters, fish and lamb for entrees, and apple tart and crepe suzette for deserts. The amouse bouche was a little fish bon bon, and we were also given a little chocolate ball and meringue afterwards. The food came to R450 per person, and we also had wine and port.
4
Hinata Ito
+4
It's a French restaurant in Pretoria. They has some private rooms. Dishes are nice, but a bit strong taste, so it's better with wine.
5
Mohini Kallan
+5
Fine dining experience at it's best! Booked a table for my husband's birthday, the food was unique and absolutely delicious. We tried the scallops with exotic mushrooms, the exotic mushrooms were a must try, the salmon with caviar and pearl couscous was out of this world, best I have had and the pepper crusted steak was cook to perfection. Highly recommended for a special evening out.
4
Lebogang Phora
+4
One of the best fine dining experiences on my list. Honestly a hidden gem in Pretoria. Located in Waterkloof really loved Brasserie de Paris. The service was exceptionally over the top. Loved the unique design, dishes and overall experience. The only downfall is Parking and GPS routing.