Reviews Il Gusto Ristorante

Facebook
Andre K Swartz
+5
A gem of a place... Great food, great wine list and an amazing atmosphere.. Owner George is passionate about food and wine. Ask for something off the menu and they will try their best to make it.. Chicken liver pasta is amazing..
Facebook
Vanessa Saaiman
+5
We had a farewell for our colleague at this cozy restaurant. Beautiful venu, the menu has a wide variety for all taste buds, the food was delicious, service was great & the owners friendly. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Thank you for a great evening�
Facebook
Toka Leuta
+5
This place is on fire! Fabulous menu, great portions; warm ambiance and fantastic hospitality! Will recommend and keep coming back! �
Facebook
Khensani Sehoole
+5
WOW a hidden gem. The atmosphere is great, the stuff are friendly, the house wine on point... I had the pleasure of having one of their massive steaks it was cooked to perfection and seasoned well. Definitely coming back
Facebook
Meagan Daniels
+5
Love the place best pizza....wonderful wine list to choose from. Feel welcome any time of the week. Great service. One of our favourites as a family. It's a must visit.
Facebook
Ruth Goudemond
+5
One of the best restaurants in Gauteng!!The food �, the service�, the atmosphere and the wine�. A must visit again soon place��
Facebook
Carol Yeatman
+5
Consistently good food and service, a great place for dinner on the East rand. Bone marrow starter very good. Calamari tender � lamb shank excellent. Great choice of wine.
Facebook
Sarah Lowe
+5
Amazing food - even better hosts and I haven't experienced such helpful, friendly smiling staff in a long long time ! Well done guys
Facebook
Tjaart van der Walt
+5
Officially my favorite restaurant in South Africa. Awesome food, lovely atmosphere, awesome and happy staff. Restauranteur with a passion. I feel like coming home to family here. Thanks for a great experience.
Facebook
Eleanor Hall
+5
Best place to eat on the East Rand. Food is always excellent and service is great. A must for anyone. Our favorite restaurant.
Facebook
Zandra Riddle
+5
Atmosphere is amazing and choice of food and wine is top class. Love dinning at this restaurant ����
Facebook
Eleanor Regnart Pote
+5
Fabulous food, lovely music. My best birthday dinner for a very long time. It was our first but most definately not our last. We had filet, calamari, trinchado and pasta. Everything was very good thank you to all. �����
Facebook
Deirdre Plint
+5
very good waitress, food absolutely divine. loved it nice atmosphere, cosy on a rainy night
Facebook
Petro van der Walt
+5
Nice, warm, cosy place. Food was excellent, nice atmosphere, best service.
Zomato
Marc Schmidt
+5
Finally we made it to this restaurant. For some unknown reason we have always bypassed it. What a mistake on our part. Our meal & experience tonight turned out to be a gem here in Boksburg!!

The restaurant is cozy, warm & very Italian inside. A real village, family, inviting, feeling. Reminded me of the restaurants I frequented in Alba, Italy.

We met the owner, George while pondering over some of the fantastic wines on display. He gave us a brilliant wine recommendation and welcomed us into his “world”. A world I embarrassing, regret not having ventured into long ago.

We sat at a table on the patio side and could feel the cool evening breeze and see the moon and the stars. Fantastic ambiance.

We decided on this our first visit to stick to a selection of anti pastas. We had the grilled calamari, the prawn & chorizo, the three cheeses and the parmadello. These dishes arrived on on platter and looked so attractive and appetising. We couldn’t wait to tuck in.

Each dish we had was mouth wateringly delicious. I don’t know which one we liked more. I could not fault anything and I could not get enough of everything. So much so we even ordered a second prawn & chorizo and parsmadello. Six antipastos between two us. Way too much food but so delicious we couldn’t stop ourselves.

Between the excellent food, the smooth amazing wine, the great service and the comforting ambience, we ended up having a memorable evening that was desperately needed and appreciated. Fantastic!!

We seriously can’t wait to go back, even if it is in Boksburg.
7 months ago
Zomato
Anthony Abbotts
+5
Good Morning,

I was hoping to get an email address so that I can communicate with the restaurant.

Many Thanks
Sep 09, 2019
Zomato
Tanya
+4
Very tasty food and presented perfect.
This is a bit pricey and when the restaurant is busy, the food takes a while.
If you love pasta, you will be in heaven as there is an extremely wide selection of sauces available.
Dec 22, 2018
Zomato
Natalie Coker
+5
Absolutely fantastic meal at Il Gusto recently. Food has always been good but it’s gotten even better. Their seafood pasta was phenomenal, definitely recommend for someone looking for something different. Steaks were cooked to perfection, Dom Pedro’s were lovely and the service was great. Truly a great experience!
Sep 22, 2018
Zomato
Snyfies
+5
My favorite spot for fine Italian cuisine with a proper Greek twist. The wine selection is ample and the sushi is great. Bring your family, friends or work colleagues for the ambiance is perfect.
Jun 26, 2018
Zomato
Tylandutoit
+5
Had a great experience. The food was amazing we had pasta. The service was top class and we were treated like kings I will definitely be back
Jun 11, 2018
Zomato
Jeannine Van Straaten
+5
The vibe is fantastic! And so is the service and above all the food. One of my favorites! A home away from home. The menu and wine selection cater for each taste. Don’t miss the wine tasting evenings from time-to-time... A true gem in the East.
Jun 02, 2018
Zomato
Maylene Kim May
+4.5
The most delicious pasta 🍝
Me and my boyfriend tried this place place out, service was okay, food I thought took a bit long BUT absolutely delicious!

I had the pasta part 1 and my boyfriend the deconstructed yiro.

Tasty! Fresh! Superb!

I recommend you try it!!!
Feb 21, 2018
Zomato
Justin Boulton
+4.5
Wed night with live entertainment (single guy on guitar playing some good old music), sets a nice atmosphere. Pleasant staff, food is very good. Value for money.
Nov 22, 2017
Zomato
Carin
+4
Good food! Great vibe Sunday's with live entertainment.
Tried sushi also, very good.
We love to go Sunday's for the live music. Lovely deserts.
Nice family restaurant!
Sep 27, 2017
Zomato
Janine Steyn
+5
Excellent food! Manager friendly and made aunts birthday extra special ! Waited a bit, but was so worth it as food was super fresh and tasty. Best chicken schnitzel I've ever had.
Aug 19, 2017
Zomato
Krystal
+5
Lovely cosy restaurant. Delicious food. Great service. Very welcoming. No reservation needed. The outside seating area had heaters for the cold winters in Boksburg. I can't wait to visit them again!
Well done il Gusto
May 19, 2017
Zomato
Pietie
+4
A wonderful place for pizza, pasta, and having a beer while you wait for your pizza and pasta. They also have wine I've been told. Sometimes I'll have a glass of wine just to be fancy, but then my debilitating gout sets in again and bada-bing-bada-boom I'm out for the count. oh well, c'est la vie as the romans say
Apr 30, 2017
Zomato
Jason Michael Scruton
+4.5
This place is simply amazing.... great date venue.... food is very well prepare.... best calamari I have had in a long time..... service is great.... but expect to drop some pennies
Feb 19, 2017
Zomato
Grant Vining
+5
Been a few times nice and relaxed environment and food is always good ! Try the garlic snails and pizzas are amazing , steak also on point !
Nov 13, 2016
Zomato
Laura Brewer
+4
Awesome little Italian joint with a great menu with a wide variety. Food has always been fantastic - never any complaints! Good service and good atmosphere. Great place on this side of town!
Oct 14, 2016
Zomato
Junz
+3.5
Been here a few times for dinner. Great place but feels a bit dated. But it works for the vibe it's going for. Food is prepared well and prices suit this. Staff are sometimes over bearing or just not available. Will be nice to get that right. All in all a good not too fancy nor basic resturant.
Oct 01, 2016
Zomato
Melissa
+5
We have been going here for a few years and the quality of food and service is excellent. The host tonight was lovely as he offered us drinks on the house for a takeout order that was not done, which was not necessary but a lovely gesture. The wait was definitely worthwhile as the food was excellent! I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.
Sep 10, 2016
Zomato
Morne Scheepers
+5
When will this place dissapoint? ? We only go for pizza and pasta, have been for 8 years now. Do yourself a favour and try a pasta that's not drowning in cream, have pasta the way it's meant to be enjoyed, olive oil and minimal ingredients. You will ALWAYS come back. Friendly owner and an award winning wine list. The seafood is also much better then you'll ever see or taste at a "franchise"
Jul 05, 2016
Zomato
Jay J Botes
+3.5
This is another family owned restaurant worth visiting. The menu has everything to satisfy the taste buds of the whole family!
The pizza's and foccacia's are gorgeous with the rest of the Italian cuisine but my favorite is the Melanzane.
We'll go back often for sure.
Note: be sure to park your car in a safe spot as we had our car scratched here.
Jun 19, 2016
Zomato
Dalene Cronje
+3.5
What a gem! It is probably the coziest place in the east Rand area. The owner always came round to ask us if we were having a good time and enjoying our meal. I ordered the fillet steak and it was perfect! It was a Tuesday night and they were relatively full. Lots of couples and families. But you can defno take your friend out and have wine!
Apr 22, 2016
Zomato
Lizette Smith
+4.5
At first glace its looks like a small casual coffee shop but when you walk through the doors it's clear that it's a little bit more than a "coffee shop". It's classy, neatly set tables with a warm atmosphere! You're greeted with smiles and a warm family feeling! The food was fresh and tasty with loads of flavour and more than a bite full. The service was friendly and timeously, but the live entertainment took away from the Italian feel since the entertainer sang rock and afrikaans...
Nov 01, 2015
Zomato
Avashini Khan
+3.5
Great food, good service, setup is cosy. I personally love the pastas. Menu is short and sweet and prices reasonable. Not a wine drinker but noticed a good selection
Oct 17, 2015
Zomato
Deboconnell78
+4
Loved this place's laid back atmosphere. The food was excellent and perfectly seasoned. Service was fast and unobtrusive thanks to the little service light on the table. Went for a work lunch and the boss who is a bit of a foodie and used to the likes of DW11-13 fare said it was the best steak he's had in a long time. Will definitely be back and take the family!
Sep 04, 2015
Zomato
Dorothy
+5
Food never disappoint and service excellent going there for years wine tasting evenings amazing. And now also serving sushi why would I like to change
Aug 22, 2015
Zomato
Rory Kale Lester
+4.5
Excellent food, excellent service, the muscles in the beer sauce are sublime, well all of the food is fantastic....great value for money too
Apr 16, 2015
Zomato
Nick Smout
+4
Been a few times good food, great evening, moneys worth, also for lovers of wine .rather sit inside it's cosy, outside just  not the same, car guards
Mar 13, 2015
Zomato
Rachel Dunne
+4
Went there for my first dinner date with my now husband, and wow was it not a let down. Their food was absolutely delicious and their portion size was perfect. Great place I would love to return too.
Jan 26, 2015
Zomato
StuieMic
+5
This is my favorite Italian restaurant!! The Dolce Vita pizza with extra avoid is AMAZING!!! Service is always brilliant!!! If you haven't been you need to go!!!!
Jan 12, 2015
Zomato
VisZA
+4
Surprised i haven't reviewed Il Guesto and have been going here for donkeys years, so here goes!

This is the go to sit down place in the area if you have a craving for Italian or a decent grill.
The ambiance within the restaurant is well suited to the cuisine, of which i especially enjoy the pastas and grills which are tasty and fresh!

There is a great selection of wines on offer and i have never had any complaints regarding service!
Jan 08, 2015
Zomato
Mary Van Blerk
+5
Lovely Italian food. Everything tastes home made. Superb wines are available. Love their wine theme through out the restaurant. Management and staff are awesome, this is my place of choice instead of cooking dinner.
Aug 20, 2013
4
Jane “JaneyPaney” Schultz
+4
Stunning meal. It's one of the best pasta dishes I can remember having. The outside seating is not great, but at least the food was excellent.
5
VANI NAICKER
+5
If you are looking for a good pasta.... this is the place to go to. Make sure you call and reserve a table as they are always busy. The waiter, David, was pleasant and cheerful. The food was divine.
4
Monic
+4
Awesome date night experience. Feels very homey and romantic. Food was amazing, felt very authentic, Italian. My only comment would be that the take away containers are really small, they are definitely necessary as the meals are huge portions. Definitely worth the price. Worth the visit. Special mention to our waiter, David. Thank you for an amazing experience. He wasn't over baring and yet kept an eye on us, checked up on us, didn't have to wait for assistance at all. Will definitely make it a regular place to visit.
5
Justine vW
+5
From the moment we walked in, everything from beginning to end was phenomenal. You don't get this type of service and food anymore. Everything we ate was so flavourful and top quality, you taste the love and the passion they have. They constantly checked in on us and the service was fast. We found this by chance and it was just a fantastic experience.
5
Dennis and Carol Ablett
+5
We had a wonderful experience yesterday for our 50th wedding anniversary. We were 24 guests and everything went really smoothly. Thanks to Mark and the staff for making the day a happy memory.
5
Wayne James Stewart
+5
You won’t go wrong going this award winning restaurant. Fit family meals to buddies night and even couples night out their menu caters for all. Generous portions and authentic Italian food that one doesn’t find easily on the East Rand. Very good wine selection and reasonably priced. Excellent service and welcoming atmosphere it’s easy to see how it has become incredibly popular.
5
jaco nell
+5
Me and my wife had our 1 year wedding anniversary and it was lovely best service and they even did something special for us. The manager of al gusto i did not get your name but thank you so much for a wonderful evening. We will be coming back as it is really 5 star service As for the owner. Please keep this service up. Wow 💯
5
Juan_R Pretorius
+5
Vry nice foor with good portions. First time being there and definitely not the last
5
Helen McGregor
+5
Ilgusto is always a super dining experience.... ambiance, food and service. When you have all three together, it is truly an excellent recipe for people to return time and again. The hosts, George and Caroline always make you feel most welcome and are on hand to attend to your every need.
5
Francois Scherman
+5
What a find. The restaurant is a must if you are in to good Italian food. The food is great service is friendly and helpful staff is well trained. Had supper there and what a great place. The pasta is fabulous. The Gnocchi is the best I have had ever. The only reason for getting 5⭐️ there is no 6 option. Pricing is fair and for the quality it is great. If you’re looking to have a great meal don’t delay go try them.
5
Angela Ladbrooke
+5
Such an amazing time everytime. Food has always been so good (portions can be a bit big). It can feel a bit crowded when full, but it also gives an amazing vibe, especially when the live music is playing. Staff are friendly and management is great, always walking around attending to everyone. Will definitely recommend and be a go to when wanting a nice evening out.
5
Mari Krause
+5
All time favorite restaurant! Great foor, great wine, great atmosphere. Always a pleasant experience. Thank you for your hospitality 🥂
5
Hein Piek
+5
WONDERFUL! Impressive menu with a more impressive wine selection. Can’t wait to visit again!
4
Sascha Crocoll
+4
decent food, very friendly service and even the chef stops by. great wine selection. but only the boss really knows his way around.
5
Mertyle Bekker
+5
My daughter took us to iL Gusto Ristorante for my Birthday Lunch and everything we ordered was delicious. I ate Squid Heads for the first time and I rather liked them, will try them again.
5
Quintin Goosen
+5
Absolute awesome restaurant with amazing food and excellent staff. Real value for money. I was there yesterday night to celebrate my birthday and like always it was excellent all round